Overview

Title IV of the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 1977 (SMCRA) established the national Abandoned Mine Land (AML) Reclamation Program under the Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (OSMRE), U.S. Department of the Interior. The program was developed to reclaim land and water resources adversely affected by past coal mining and left abandoned or inadequately restored. SMCRA levied fees on active coal mining to pay the reclamation costs. Collected fees are deposited in the AML Fund. Once the national program had been established, Congress authorized states and tribes to implement their own programs. The programs are funded through grants from OSMRE, which receives funding from the AML Fund through the regular congressional budget and appropriations process.


As the programs developed, the states/tribes realized it would be beneficial to join together to accomplish common goals and objectives related to the reclamation of abandoned mine lands. Also, cooperation, coordination, and communication between the states/tribes and the federal government needed to be improved. In March 1983 the states/tribes met in St. Louis, Missouri, and organized an informal association.


The states and tribes voted to formalize the Association and by-laws were adopted January 27, 1993. The National Association of Abandoned Mine Land Programs was registered as a nonprofit corporation on January 4, 1995, in Cheyenne, Wyoming.


The mission of the Association is as follows:


Membership is open to any state or tribe; individual memberships are not offered. Voting is limited to one vote per member. Members that do not have OSMRE-funded reclamation activities within their geographic boundaries will be required to abstain from voting on OSMRE grant or SMCRA-related issues. The voting membership is comprised of 23 states and 3 tribes.


The officers of the Association are the president, vice president, and secretary/treasurer. The officers are elected by the members for a one-year term and are limited to two consecutive terms in the same office.


Each year a conference, with a business session and technical/administrative sessions, is held, generally in the early fall. It is hosted by a member state/tribe on a rotating basis. A two-day business meeting usually is held during the winter and is also hosted by a member state/tribe.


The goals and objectives of the Association are as follows:





Officers

President - Justin Ireys, Alaska

Vice President - Robert Scott, Kentucky

Secretary/Treasurer - Autumn Coleman, Montana


Past Officers

Year Elected
President
Vice President
Secreatry/Treasurer
1982 Dave Rosenbaum - KY Robert Clark - MO n/a
1983 David Holm - CO Sue Massie - IL n/a
1984 Sue Massie - IL Mike Kastl - OK n/a
1985 Mike Kastl - OK Dave Hogeman - PA n/a
1986 Gary Beach - WY Bob Baker - OH n/a
1987 Bob Baker - OH Roger Williams - VA n/a
1988 Roger Williams - VA Mary Ann Wright - UT n/a
1989 Mary Ann Wright - UT Dave Bucknam - CO n/a
1990 Dave Bucknam - CO Dan Schuette - MO n/a
1991 Dan Schuette - MO Tim Hickmann - IL n/a
1992 Dave Hogeman - PA Tim Hickmann- IL n/a
1993 Tim Hickmann - IL Paul Rothman - KY Stan Barnard - WY
1994 Paul Rothman - KY Vic Anderson - MT Stan Barnard - WY
1995 Vic Andersen - MT Stan Barnard - WY Mike Kastl - OK
1996 Stan Barnard - WY Ernie Giovannitti - PA Mike Kastl - OK
1997 Ernie Giovannitti - PA Bob Evetts - NM John Husted - OH
1998 Bob Evetts - NM Mark Rhodes - TX John Husted - OH
1999 Pat Park - WV Bill Guyette - AL Murray Balk - KS
2000 Pat Park - WV Bill Guyette - AL Murray Balk - KS
2001 Bill Guyette - AL Murray Balk - KS Steve Hohmann - KY
2002 Murray Balk - KS Steve Hohmann - KY Mark Mesch - UT
2003 Steve Hohmann - KY Mark Mesch - UT Walter Cartwright - AL
2004 Steve Hohmann - KY Mark Mesch - UT Loretta Pineda - CO
2005 Mark Mesch - UT John Husted - OH Loretta Pineda - CO
2006 John Husted - OH Loretta Pineda - CO Steve Herbert - IN
2007 Loretta Pineda - CO Steve Herbert - IN Mike Garner - MD
2008 Steve Herbert - IN Mike Garner - MD Madeline Roanhorse - Navajo Nation
2009 Mike Garner - MD Madeline Roanhorse - Navajo Nation Todd Coffelt - IA
2010 Mike Garner - MD Madeline Roanhorse - Navajo Nation Todd Coffelt - IA
2011 Madeline Roanhorse - Navajo Nation Todd Coffelt - IA Bruce Stover - CO
2012 Todd Coffelt - IA Bruce Stover - CO Eric Cavazza - PA
2013 Bruce Stover - CO Eric Cavazza - PA Chuck Williams - AL
2014 Eric Cavazza - PA Chuck Williams - AL Justin Ireys - AK
2015 Chuck Williams - AL Justin Ireys - AK Robert Scott - KY

Contacts

Member states and tribes contact information



ALABAMA


Chuck Williams, State Mine Land Reclamation Supervisor Inspections Division

Alabama Department of Labor
11 West Oxmoor Road, Suite 100
Birmingham, Alabama 35209

Phone: 205-945-8671
Fax: 205-945-8685
Email: chuck.williams@labor.alabama.gov
http://labor.alabama.gov/Inspections/Mining

ALTERNATE: Jeff Butler
Phone: 205-945-8671
Email: jeffrey.butler@labor.alabama.gov

ALASKA


Justin Ireys, AML Program Manager (President)

Division of Mining, Land, and Water
Alaska Department of Natural Resources
550 W. 7th Ave., Suite 900D
Anchorage, Alaska 99501

Phone: 907-269-8603
Fax: 907-269-8930
Email: justin.ireys@alaska.gov
www.dnr.state.ak.us/mlw/mining/aml

ALTERNATE: Julia Fleming
Phone: 907-269-8553
Email: julia.fleming@alaska.gov

ARIZONA


Laurie Swatzbaugh, Deputy Director

Arizona State Mine Inspector
1700 W. Washington Street, Suite 400
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Phone: 602-542-5971
Fax: 602-542-5335
Email: abandonedmines@asmi.az.gov
www.asmi.az.gov

ARKANSAS


James F. Stephens, Senior Manager/Chief Geologist

Surface Mining and Reclamation Division
Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality
5301 Northshore Drive
North Little Rock, Arkansas 72118-5317

Phone: 501-682-0807
Fax: 501-683-0880
Email: stephens@adeq.state.ar.us
www.adeq.state.ar.us/mining/default.htm

ALTERNATE: Clark McWilliams
Phone: 501-682-0510
Email: mcwilliamsc@adeq.state.ar.us

CALIFORNIA


Glenda Marsh

Abandoned Mine Lands Program
California Department of Conservation
801 K Street, MS 09-06
Sacramento, California 95814

Phone: 916-445-9408
Fax: 916-445-6066
Email: glenda.marsh@conservation.ca.gov
www.consrv.ca.gov/OMR/abandoned_mine_lands/index.htm

COLORADO


Jeff Graves, Director

Inactive Mine Reclamation Program
Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety
Department of Natural Resources
1313 Sherman Street, Room 215
Denver, Colorado 80203

Phone: 303-866-3567 ext. 8122
Fax: 303-832-8106
Email: jeff.graves@state.co.us
mining.state.co.us

ALTERNATE: Tara Tafi
Colorado IMRP
197 Teocalli Rd. Unit B
Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone: 720-425-4122
Email: tara.tafi@state.co.us

CROW TRIBE


Laura Little Owl, AML Director

P.O. Box 460
Crow Agency, Montana 59022

Phone:406-638-2145 ext. 229
Fax: 406-638-2151
Email: laura.littleowl@crow-nsn.gov

HOPI TRIBE


Norman Honie, Jr., Director

Office of Mining and Mineral Resources
The Hopi Tribe
P.O. Box 123
Kykotsmovi, Arizona 86039

Phone: 928-734-7164
Fax: 928-734-7148
Email: Nhonie@hopi.nsn.us

ILLINOIS


Greg Pinto, Acting Manager

Abandoned Mine Land Reclamation Division
Office of Mines and Minerals
Department of Natural Resources
One Natural Resources Way
Springfield, Illinois 62702-1271

Phone: 217-785-0398
Fax: 217-524-4819
Email: greg.pinto@illinois.gov
www.dnr.state.il.us/mines

INDIANA


Marvin Ellis, Director

Abandoned Mine Lands Program
Department of Natural Resources
14619 West State Road 48
Jasonville, Indiana 47438

Phone: 812-665-2207
Fax: 812-665-5041
Email: mdellis@dnr.in.gov
www.in.gov/dnr/reclamation

IOWA


Susan Kozak, Chief

Mines and Minerals Bureau
Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship
Wallace State Office Building
502 E. 9th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

Phone: 515-281-6147
Fax: 515-281-6170
Email: Susan.Kozak@iowaagriculture.gov
www.iowaagriculture.gov/minesandminerals.asp

KANSAS


Murray J. Balk, Chief

Surface Mining Section
Department of Health and Environment
4033 Parkview Drive
Frontenac, Kansas 66763

Phone: 620-231-8540
Fax: 620-231-0753
Email: Murray.Balk@ks.gov
www.kdheks.gov/mining/

KENTUCKY


Robert F. Scott, Director (Vice President)

Division of Abandoned Mine Lands
Department of Natural Resources
300 Sower Blvd.
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Phone: 502-782-6761
Fax: 502-564-6544
Email: BobF.Scott@ky.gov
aml.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

LOUISIANA


Abby Alkire, PhD, Geologist Supervisor

Office of Conservation
Injection and Mining Division
Surface Mining Section
P.O. Box 94275
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9275

Phone: 225-342-5588
Fax: 225-242-3349
Email: Abby.Alkire@la.gov
http://dnr.louisiana.gov/

MARYLAND


Michael Garner, Chief

Abandoned Mine Lands Division
Maryland Mining Program
Maryland Department of the Environment
160 South Water Street
Frostburg, Maryland 21532-2145

Phone: 301-689-1460
Fax: 301-689-6544
Email: mike.garner@maryland.gov
www.mde.state.md.us/programs/Land/mining/Coal Mining/Pages/Programs/LandPrograms/mining/BOM/index.aspx

MISSISSIPPI


James Matheny, Director

Coal Mining Division
Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 2279
Jackson, Mississippi 39225-2279

Phone: 601-961-5519
Fax: 601-961-5521
Email: jmatheny@mdeq.ms.gov
www.deq.state.ms.us/MDEQ.nsf/page/Geology_mining_and_reclamation

MISSOURI


Larry Lehman, Director

Land Reclamation Program
Mossouri Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Phone: 573-751-4041
Fax: 573-751-0534
Email: larry.lehman@dnr.mo.gov
www.dnr.mo.gov/env/lrp/index.html

MONTANA


Autumn Coleman, Program Manager (Secretary/Treasurer)

Abandoned Mine Lands Program
Montana Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 200901
Helena, Montana 59620-0901

Phone: 406-444-6555
Email: acoleman@mt.gov
http://www.deq.mt.gov/abandonedmines/default.mcpx

ALTERNATE: Bill Snoddy
Phone: 406-444-6458
Email: bsnoddy@mt.gov

NAVAJO NATION


Madeline Roanhorse, Department Manager

Navajo AML Reclamation/UMTRA Department
P.O. Box 1875
Window Rock, Arizona 86515

Phone: 928-871-6982
Fax: 928-871-7190
Email: mroanhorse@frontiernet.net
http://www.aml.navajo-nsn.gov/

NEVADA


Robert Ghiglieri, Chief

Abandoned Mine Lands Program
Nevada Division of Minerals
400 West King Street, Suite 106
Carson City, Nevada 89703

Phone: 775-684-7048
Fax: 775-684-7052
Email: rghiglieri@minerals.nv.gov
http://minerals.nv.gov/Programs/AML/

ALTERNATE: Jeryl Gardner, NDEP AML Program Coordinator
Nevada Division of Environmental Protection
Phone: 775-687-9484
Email: jgardner@ndep.nv.gov

NEW MEXICO


John Kretzmann, Program Manager

Abandoned Mine Land Program
Mining and Minerals Division
New Mexico Energy, Minerals, and Natural Resources Dept.
1220 S. St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505

Phone: 505-476-3423
Fax: 505-476-3402
Email: john.kretzmann@state.nm.us
www.nmmines.com

ALTERNATE: Lloyd Moiola
Phone: 505-476-3429
Email: Lloyd.moiola@state.nm.us

NORTH DAKOTA


Dean Moos, Director

Reclamation and Abandoned Mine Lands Divisions
Public Service Commission
600 E. Boulevard Ave., Dept. 408
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0480

Phone: 701-328-4099
Fax: 701-328-2133
Email: dmoos@nd.gov
http://www.psc.nd.gov/jurisdiction/aml/index.php

ALTERNATE: William E. Dodd
Phone: 701-328-4101
Email: wdodd@nd.gov

OHIO


Jim Bishop, AML Program Administrator

Division of Mineral Resources Management
Department of Natural Resources
2045 Morse Road, Building H-2
Columbus, Ohio 43229

Phone: 614-265-1094
Fax: 614-265-7999
Email: james.bishop@dnr.state.oh.us
www.dnr.state.oh.us/mineral/aml/tabid/10422/Default.aspx

ALTERNATE: Lanny E. Erdos, Chief, ODNR
Phone: 614-265-6893
Email: lanny.erdos@dnr.state.oh.us

OKLAHOMA


Robert Toole, AML Program Director

Oklahoma Conservation Commission
2800 N. Lincoln Blvd., Suite 160
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105

Phone: 405-521-4818 or 450-521-2384
Fax: 405-521-6686
Email: robert.toole@conservation.ok.gov
www.ok.gov/conservation/Agency_Divisions/Abandoned_Mine_Land_Reclamation_Division/index.html

ALTERNATE:

Mike Sharp, AML Program Assistant Director Dianne Ireton
Phone: 405-521-4813 Phone: 405-521-2384
Fax: 405-521-6686 dianne.ireton@conservation.ok.gov
mike.sharp@conservation.ok.gov

PENNSYLVANIA


Eric Cavazza, P.E., Director

Bureau of Abandoned Mine Reclamation
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
P.O. Box 69205
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17106-9205

Phone: 717-783-2267 or 814-472-1800
Fax: 717-783-7442 or 814-472-1839
Email: ecavazza@pa.gov
http://www.dep.pa.gov/Business/Land/Mining/AbandonedMineReclamation

ALTERNATE:

Brian Bradley John Stefanko
Phone: 701-783-2267 Phone: 717-783-9958
brbradley@pa.gov jstefanko@pa.gov

TENNESSEE


Trevor Martin, Program Manager

Land Reclamation Section
Division of Water Resources
Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation
3711 Middlebrook Pike
Knoxville, Tennessee 37921-6538

Phone: 865-594-5603
Fax: 865-594-6105
Email: trevor.martin@tn.gov
http://www.tn.gov/environment/topic/wr-mining-information-permits

TEXAS


Travis Wooten, Director

Surface Mining and Reclamation Division
Railroad Commission of Texas
P.O. Box 12967 Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2967

Phone: 512-305-8831
Fax: 512-463-6709
Email: travis.wooten@rec.texas.gov
http://www.rrc.state.tx.us/mining-exploration/programs/abandoned-mine-land-program

ALTERNATE:

Mark Rhodes Scott Englemann
Phone: 512-305-8834 Phone: 512-305-8813
mark.rhodes@rrc.state.tx.us scott.englemann@rec.texas.gov

UTAH


Steve Fluke, AML Program Manager

Utah Department of Natural Resources
Division of Oil, Gas, and Mining
PO Box 145801
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-5801

Phone: 801-538-5259
Email: stevefluke@utah.gov
www.ogm.utah.gov/amr/default.htm

ALTERNATE: Dana Dean, Associate Director - Mining
Phone: 801-538-5320
Email: danadean@utah.gov

VIRGINIA


Richard Davis, AML Program Manager

Division of Mined Land Reclamation
Department of Mines, Minerals, and Energy
P.O. Drawer 900
Big Stone Gap, Virginia 24219

Phone: 276-523-8216
Fax: 276-523-8247
Email: richard.davis@dmme.virginia.gov
http://www.dmme.virginia.gov/DMLR/docs/aml.shtml

WEST VIRGINIA


Rob Rice, Chief

Office of Abandoned Mine Lands and Reclamation
West Virginia Deptartment of Environmental Protection
601 57th Steet
Charleston, West Virginia 25304

Phone: 304-926-0499 Ext. 1476
Fax: 304-926-0458
Email: robert.rice@wv.gov
http://www.dep.wv.gov/aml

WYOMING


Alan Edwards, AML Administrator and Deputy Director

Abandoned Mine Lands
Department of Environmental Quality
200 West 17th Street
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002

Phone: 307-777-7062
Fax: 307-777-6462
Email: alan.edwards@wyo.gov
http://deq.wyoming.gov/aml/


If you have questions or comments, email the webmaster at naamlp@naamlp.net