Title IV of the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 1977 (SMCRA) established the national Abandoned Mine Land (AML) Reclamation Program under the Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (OSMRE), U.S. Department of the Interior. The program was developed to reclaim land and water resources adversely affected by past coal mining and left abandoned or inadequately restored. SMCRA levied fees on active coal mining to pay the reclamation costs. Collected fees are deposited in the AML Fund. Once the national program had been established, Congress authorized states and tribes to implement their own programs. The programs are funded through grants from OSMRE, which receives funding from the AML Fund through the regular congressional budget and appropriations process.

As the programs developed, the states/tribes realized it would be beneficial to join together to accomplish common goals and objectives related to the reclamation of abandoned mine lands. Also, cooperation, coordination, and communication between the states/tribes and the federal government needed to be improved. In March 1983 the states/tribes met in St. Louis, Missouri, and organized an informal association.

The states and tribes voted to formalize the Association and by-laws were adopted January 27, 1993. The National Association of Abandoned Mine Land Programs was registered as a nonprofit corporation on January 4, 1995, in Cheyenne, Wyoming.

The mission of the Association is as follows:

Membership is open to any state or tribe; individual memberships are not offered. Voting is limited to one vote per member. Members that do not have OSMRE-funded reclamation activities within their geographic boundaries will be required to abstain from voting on OSMRE grant or SMCRA-related issues. The voting membership is comprised of 23 states and 3 tribes.

The officers of the Association are the president, vice president, and secretary/treasurer. The officers are elected by the members for a one-year term and are limited to two consecutive terms in the same office.

Each year a conference, with a business session and technical/administrative sessions, is held, generally in the early fall. It is hosted by a member state/tribe on a rotating basis. A two-day business meeting usually is held during the winter and is also hosted by a member state/tribe.

The goals and objectives of the Association are as follows:


President - Bob Scott, Kentucky

Vice President - Autumn Coleman, Montana

Secretary/Treasurer - Travis Parsons, West Virginia

Past Officers

Year Elected
Vice President
2016 Justin Ireys, AK Robert Scott, KY Autumn Coleman, MT
2015 Chuck Williams - AL Justin Ireys - AK Robert Scott - KY
2014 Eric Cavazza - PA Chuck Williams - AL Justin Ireys - AK
2013 Bruce Stover - CO Eric Cavazza - PA Chuck Williams - AL
2012 Todd Coffelt - IA Bruce Stover - CO Eric Cavazza - PA
2011 Madeline Roanhorse - Navajo Nation Todd Coffelt - IA Bruce Stover - CO
2010 Mike Garner - MD Madeline Roanhorse - Navajo Nation Todd Coffelt - IA
2009 Mike Garner - MD Madeline Roanhorse - Navajo Nation Todd Coffelt - IA
2008 Steve Herbert - IN Mike Garner - MD Madeline Roanhorse - Navajo Nation
2007 Loretta Pineda - CO Steve Herbert - IN Mike Garner - MD
2006 John Husted - OH Loretta Pineda - CO Steve Herbert - IN
2005 Mark Mesch - UT John Husted - OH Loretta Pineda - CO
2004 Steve Hohmann - KY Mark Mesch - UT Loretta Pineda - CO
2003 Steve Hohmann - KY Mark Mesch - UT Walter Cartwright - AL
2002 Murray Balk - KS Steve Hohmann - KY Mark Mesch - UT
2001 Bill Guyette - AL Murray Balk - KS Steve Hohmann - KY
2000 Pat Park - WV Bill Guyette - AL Murray Balk - KS
1999 Pat Park - WV Bill Guyette - AL Murray Balk - KS
1998 Bob Evetts - NM Mark Rhodes - TX John Husted - OH
1997 Ernie Giovannitti - PA Bob Evetts - NM John Husted - OH
1996 Stan Barnard - WY Ernie Giovannitti - PA Mike Kastl - OK
1995 Vic Andersen - MT Stan Barnard - WY Mike Kastl - OK
1994 Paul Rothman - KY Vic Anderson - MT Stan Barnard - WY
1993 Tim Hickmann - IL Paul Rothman - KY Stan Barnard - WY
1992 Dave Hogeman - PA Tim Hickmann- IL n/a
1991 Dan Schuette - MO Tim Hickmann - IL n/a
1990 Dave Bucknam - CO Dan Schuette - MO n/a
1989 Mary Ann Wright - UT Dave Bucknam - CO n/a
1988 Roger Williams - VA Mary Ann Wright - UT n/a
1987 Bob Baker - OH Roger Williams - VA n/a
1986 Gary Beach - WY Bob Baker - OH n/a
1985 Mike Kastl - OK Dave Hogeman - PA n/a
1984 Sue Massie - IL Mike Kastl - OK n/a
1983 David Holm - CO Sue Massie - IL n/a
1982 Dave Rosenbaum - KY Robert Clark - MO n/a


Member states and tribes contact information


Chuck Williams, State Mine Land Reclamation Supervisor Inspections Division

Alabama Department of Labor
11 West Oxmoor Road, Suite 100
Birmingham, Alabama 35209

Phone: 205-945-8671
Fax: 205-945-8685
Email: chuck.williams@labor.alabama.gov

ALTERNATE: Jeff Butler
Phone: 205-945-8671
Email: jeffrey.butler@labor.alabama.gov


Justin Ireys, AML Program Manager (President)

Division of Mining, Land, and Water
Alaska Department of Natural Resources
550 W. 7th Ave., Suite 900D
Anchorage, Alaska 99501

Phone: 907-269-8603
Fax: 907-269-8930
Email: justin.ireys@alaska.gov

ALTERNATE: Julia Fleming
Phone: 907-269-8553
Email: julia.fleming@alaska.gov


Laurie Swatzbaugh, Deputy Director

Arizona State Mine Inspector
1700 W. Washington Street, Suite 400
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Phone: 602-542-5971
Fax: 602-542-5335
Email: abandonedmines@asmi.az.gov


James F. Stephens, Senior Manager/Chief Geologist

Mining Program, Office of Land Resources
Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality
5301 Northshore Drive
North Little Rock, Arkansas 72118-5317

Phone: 501-682-0880
Fax: 501-683-0880
Email: stephens@adeq.state.ar.us

ALTERNATE: Clark McWilliams
Phone: 501-682-0510
Email: mcwilliamsc@adeq.state.ar.us


Glenda Marsh

Abandoned Mine Lands Program
California Department of Conservation
801 K Street, MS 09-06
Sacramento, California 95814

Phone: 916-445-9408
Fax: 916-445-6066
Email: glenda.marsh@conservation.ca.gov


Jeff Graves, Director

Inactive Mine Reclamation Program
Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety
Department of Natural Resources
1313 Sherman Street, Room 215
Denver, Colorado 80203

Phone: 303-866-3567 ext. 8122
Fax: 303-832-8106
Email: jeff.graves@state.co.us

Colorado IMRP
197 Teocalli Rd. Unit B
Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone: 720-425-4122
Email: tara.tafi@state.co.us


Laura Little Owl, AML Director

P.O. Box 460
Crow Agency, Montana 59022

Phone:406-638-2145 ext. 229
Fax: 406-638-2151
Email: laura.littleowl@crow-nsn.gov


Norman Honie, Jr., Director

Office of Mining and Mineral Resources
The Hopi Tribe
P.O. Box 123
Kykotsmovi, Arizona 86039

Phone: 928-734-7164
Fax: 928-734-7148
Email: Nhonie@hopi.nsn.us


Greg Pinto, Acting Manager

Abandoned Mine Land Reclamation Division
Office of Mines and Minerals
Department of Natural Resources
One Natural Resources Way
Springfield, Illinois 62702-1271

Phone: 217-785-0398
Fax: 217-524-4819
Email: greg.pinto@illinois.gov


Marvin Ellis, Director

Abandoned Mine Lands Program
Department of Natural Resources
14619 West State Road 48
Jasonville, Indiana 47438

Phone: 812-665-2207
Fax: 812-665-5041
Email: mdellis@dnr.in.gov


Susan Kozak, Chief

Mines and Minerals Bureau
Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship
Wallace State Office Building
502 E. 9th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

Phone: 515-281-6147
Fax: 515-281-6170
Email: Susan.Kozak@iowaagriculture.gov


Murray J. Balk, Chief

Surface Mining Section
Department of Health and Environment
4033 Parkview Drive
Frontenac, Kansas 66763

Phone: 620-231-8540
Fax: 620-231-0753
Email: Murray.Balk@ks.gov

ALTERNATE: Marlene Spence
Phone: 620-231-8540
Email: Marlene.Spence@ks.gov


Robert F. Scott, Director (Vice President)

Division of Abandoned Mine Lands
Department of Natural Resources
300 Sower Blvd.
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Phone: 502-782-6761
Fax: 502-564-6544
Email: BobF.Scott@ky.gov


Abby Alkire, PhD, Geologist Supervisor

Office of Conservation
Injection and Mining Division
Surface Mining Section
P.O. Box 94275
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9275

Phone: 225-342-5588
Fax: 225-242-3349
Email: Abby.Alkire@la.gov


Michael Garner, Chief

Abandoned Mine Lands Division
Maryland Mining Program
Maryland Department of the Environment
160 South Water Street
Frostburg, Maryland 21532-2145

Phone: 301-689-1460
Fax: 301-689-6544
Email: mike.garner@maryland.gov
www.mde.state.md.us/programs/Land/mining/Coal Mining/Pages/Programs/LandPrograms/mining/BOM/index.aspx

ALTERNATE: Connie Loucks
Phone: 301-689-1461
Email: connie.loucks@maryland.gov


James Matheny, Director

Coal Mining Division
Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 2279
Jackson, Mississippi 39225-2279

Phone: 601-961-5519
Fax: 601-961-5521
Email: jmatheny@mdeq.ms.gov


Larry Lehman, Director

Land Reclamation Program
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Phone: 573-751-4041
Fax: 573-751-0534
Email: larry.lehman@dnr.mo.gov

ALTERNATE: Mike Mueller
Phone: 573-751-4041
Fax: 573-751-0534
Email: mike.mueller@dnr.mo.gov


Autumn Coleman, Program Manager (Secretary/Treasurer)

Abandoned Mine Lands Program
Montana Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 200901
Helena, Montana 59620-0901

Phone: 406-444-6555
Email: acoleman@mt.gov

ALTERNATE: Bill Snoddy
Phone: 406-444-6458
Email: bsnoddy@mt.gov


Madeline Roanhorse, Department Manager

Navajo AML Reclamation/UMTRA Department
P.O. Box 1875
Window Rock, Arizona 86515

Phone: 928-871-6982
Fax: 928-871-7190
Email: mmmroanhorse@navajo-nsn.gov


Robert Ghiglieri, Chief

Abandoned Mine Lands Program
Nevada Division of Minerals
400 West King Street, Suite 106
Carson City, Nevada 89703

Phone: 775-684-7048
Fax: 775-684-7052
Email: rghiglieri@minerals.nv.gov

ALTERNATE: Jeryl Gardner, NDEP AML Program Coordinator
Nevada Division of Environmental Protection
Phone: 775-687-9484
Email: jgardner@ndep.nv.gov


John Kretzmann, Program Manager

Abandoned Mine Land Program
Mining and Minerals Division
New Mexico Energy, Minerals, and Natural Resources Dept.
1220 S. St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505

Phone: 505-476-3423
Fax: 505-476-3402
Email: john.kretzmann@state.nm.us

ALTERNATE: Lloyd Moiola
Phone: 505-476-3429
Email: Lloyd.moiola@state.nm.us


Dean Moos, Director

Reclamation and Abandoned Mine Lands Divisions
Public Service Commission
600 E. Boulevard Ave., Dept. 408
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0480

Phone: 701-328-4099
Fax: 701-328-2133
Email: dmoos@nd.gov

ALTERNATE: William E. Dodd
Phone: 701-328-4101
Email: wdodd@nd.gov


Jim Bishop, AML Program Administrator

Division of Mineral Resources Management
Department of Natural Resources
2045 Morse Road, Building H-2
Columbus, Ohio 43229

Phone: 614-265-1094
Fax: 614-265-7999
Email: james.bishop@dnr.state.oh.us

ALTERNATE: Lanny E. Erdos, Chief, ODNR
Phone: 614-265-6893
Email: lanny.erdos@dnr.state.oh.us


Robert Toole, AML Program Director

Oklahoma Conservation Commission
2800 N. Lincoln Blvd., Suite 200
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105

Phone: 405-834-2560 or 450-521-4818
Fax: 405-521-6686
Email: robert.toole@conservation.ok.gov


Mike Sharp, AML Program Assistant Director Dianne Ireton
Phone: 405-521-4813 Phone: 405-521-4817
Fax: 405-521-6686 dianne.ireton@conservation.ok.gov


Eric Cavazza, P.E., Director

Bureau of Abandoned Mine Reclamation
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
P.O. Box 69205
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17106-9205

Phone: 717-783-2267 or 814-472-1800
Fax: 717-783-7442 or 814-472-1839
Email: ecavazza@pa.gov


Brian Bradley John Stefanko
Phone: 717-783-2267 Phone: 717-772-1856
brbradley@pa.gov jstefanko@pa.gov


Trevor Martin, Program Manager

Land Reclamation Section
Division of Water Resources
Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation
3711 Middlebrook Pike
Knoxville, Tennessee 37921-6538

Phone: 865-594-5603
Fax: 865-594-6105
Email: trevor.martin@tn.gov


Cory Gretlein, Program Manager

Railroad Commission of Texas
P.O. Box 12967 Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2967

Phone: 512-305-8817
Fax: 512-463-6709
Email: cory.gretlein@rrc.texas.gov


Travis Wooten J. Denny Kingsley, Director
Phone: 512-305-8813 Phone: 512-305-8831
travis.wooten@rrc.texas.gov denny.kingsley@rec.texas.gov


Steve Fluke, AML Program Manager

Utah Department of Natural Resources
Division of Oil, Gas, and Mining
PO Box 145801
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-5801

Phone: 801-538-5259
Email: stevefluke@utah.gov

ALTERNATE: Dana Dean, Associate Director - Mining
Phone: 801-538-5320
Email: danadean@utah.gov


Lesa C. Baker,Interim AML Project Coordinator

Department of Mines, Minerals, and Energy
P.O. Drawer 900
Big Stone Gap, Virginia 24219

Phone: 276-523-8178
Fax: 276-523-8247
Email: lesa.baker@dmme.virginia.gov


Rob Rice, Chief

Office of Abandoned Mine Lands and Reclamation
West Virginia Deptartment of Environmental Protection
601 57th Steet, SE
Charleston, West Virginia 25304

Phone: 304-926-0499 Ext. 1476
Fax: 304-926-0458
Email: robert.rice@wv.gov

ALTERNATE: Travis Parsons, Planning Administrator
Phone: 304-926-0499 ext. 1670
Mobile: 304-926-4317
Email: travis.g.parsons@wv.gov


Alan Edwards, AML Administrator and Deputy Director

Abandoned Mine Lands
Department of Environmental Quality
200 West 17th Street, 4th Floor
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002

Phone: 307-777-7062
Fax: 307-777-6462
Email: alan.edwards@wyo.gov

If you have questions or comments, email the webmaster at naamlp@naamlp.net